Splurge or Save: Daybed

I’m so torn.  We really need a seating option for my office/sunroom, and I’ve been price stalking this West Elm daybed for quite some time.  It NEVER goes on sale. 

Then I found this option from World Market.  It doesn’t have the clean lines that I love in the West Elm daybed, but it would work well in the room. 

The problem is, I’m really trying to buy things that I LOVE for the house.  When I buy things on sale that I only like, I tend to want to get rid of them and upgrade after a year or two.  So I’m torn.  Maybe a side-by-side comparison will help:

Cost Breakdown

West Elm Overlapping Squares Daybed:

$559 for the daybed, mattress cover, and two bolsters

$250 for the twin mattress from overstock.com (rather than pay $400 for the one from West Elm)

Total = $809

World Market Studio Day Sofa

$349 for the frame, cover, and pillows (on sale from $399)

$100 for slip covers (not on the website currently, but all the reviews say they are needed)

Total = $449

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Splurge or Save: Daybed

  1. hmmmmm… that is a hard one! I would have to say go with what you LOVE and you will not regret your decision.

    thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m glad you like that lamp! It took me forever to pick out a shade and finial for it , so I’m glad somebody likes it!

    xo

  2. The last image is perfection, and how I envisage my dressing room to be. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

