Novice Cook: Butternut Squash Soup

It’s finally starting to feel like fall here in New Orleans, and my Midwestern roots have me craving apple cider, pumpkin pie, and butternut squash.  Last week I sampled some delicious butternut squash soup at my local Whole Foods, and was inspired to try out the recipe.  Ever since we received our awesome cooking tools from our wedding registry, I’ve had more confidence in the kitchen.  Armed with my squash from the farmers market and the relatively simple ingredient list, I was ready to go.

…and then I realized I didn’t even know how to cube butternut squash!  I did my google research and found this woman’s incredibly detailed explanation.  Bless her.  If you are a novice cook like I am, I have the following edits:

-If you follow her advice and microwave the squash first, you can use a vegetable peeler to take off the skin.  It’s much easier than using a knife.

-Umm, you may want to make sure the cutting board is more than an inch away from the counter edge.  I may or may not have ended up with squash cubes on the floor.

-You can use a regular old blender if you don’t have an immersion blender.

-If you want a creamy texture, use the minimum amount of stock (4 cups, or even a little less).  I had WAY too much, and ended up having to strain some out.

It ended up turning out really well, and I will definitely be making it again.  Next time I may add something to sweeten it up a bit, like apples or nutmeg.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Novice Cook: Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Probably the best thing about Autumn just has to be the seasonal fruit and vegetables. I love that you’re using them in such a lovely recipe. Dinner at your place sounds good!

    • I agree! I’m trying to buy more local fruit and vegetables, and challenge myself to use them in new ways. It may be a little more difficult, but it’s so worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

